Costa: Steward Stamp Resolved

It seems unlikely that Diego Costa will face any further action from the Football Association after seeming to deliberately stamp on the foot of a Stoke City steward during Chelsea’s game at The Britannia Stadium this weekend.

A steward alleged that he had been assaulted after the Chelsea striker made contact with his foot when he went to collect the football for a throw-in. Costa is a notoriously troublesome striker and was involved in a number of incidents during the game, though the match referee Anthony Taylor did not punish him for any of them.

Though a Chelsea official has described the incident with the steward ‘utter nonsense’, it will go into the referee’s match report and will be looked at by the FA. With Stoke City having now confirmed that the incident has been ‘resolved’ the likelihood is that that FA will decide to take the matter no further.

Chelsea fell to their seventh defeat of the season at The Britannia Stadium and they did so without their manager in attendance. Jose Mourinho had been banned from the stadium because of his actions during his side’s 2-1 loss to West Ham when he refused to leave the referee’s dressing room at half-time and bombarded the officials with a foul-mouthed rant.